Home Local News Shortlist revealed for Lancashire Book of the Year

Shortlist revealed for Lancashire Book of the Year


The shortlisted titles for the Lancashire Book of the Year awards have been announced at a special event held in Preston today (Tuesday 10 March).

Lancashire Book of the Year remains one of the few book awards where young people themselves are totally responsible for drawing up the shortlist and choosing the overall winner.

This special occasion was attended by representatives from 24 high schools from across the county.

The shortlisted authors and books are:

Neal Shusterman – Dry
Kesia Lupo – We Are Blood and Thunder
Becky Albertalli – What If It’s Us
Chelsea Pitcher – This Lie Will Kill You
Gabriel Dylan – Whiteout
Sarah Carroll – The Words That Fly Between Us
Samuel Pollen – The Year I Didn’t Eat
Mary Watson – The Wickerlight
Kathryn Evans – Beauty Sleep
Angie Thomas – On the Come Up
Lisa Williamson – Paper Avalanche
Erin Lange – The Chaos of Now

The winning author of the Lancashire Book of the Year award will be decided on 23 June and announced at a special celebration event, with sponsors UCLan, on 3 July.

County Councillor Peter Buckley, Lancashire County Council’s cabinet member for community and cultural services, said: “A love of reading that can stay with you for the rest of your life begins with being introduced to books at a young age.

“It’s superb to see so many young people so actively involved in choosing the books to go forward, and clearly getting so much pleasure from books.

“The young readers themselves choose the winner of this award. Knowing that the young people they are actually writing for have shortlisted them means so much to the authors.

“I really hope that they enjoy reading these shortlisted books to decide on their overall winner, and that their love of reading continues.”

There were 58 books nominated this year. The young judges have been reading them since September to decide which books to shortlist.

The schools that have taken part this year are:

All Hallows Catholic High School, South Ribble
Bacup and Rawtenstall Grammar School, Rossendale
Baines High School, Wyre
Balshaw’s Church of England High School, South Ribble
Blessed Trinity Roman Catholic College, Burnley
Burscough Priory Academy, West Lancashire
Carr Hill High School, Fylde
Colne Park High School, Pendle
Corpus Christi Catholic High School, Preston
Haslingden High School, Rossendale
Holy Cross Catholic High School, Chorley
Hyndburn Academy, Hyndburn
Kirkham Grammar School, Fylde
Lancaster Royal Grammar School, Lancaster
Lathom High School, West Lancashire
Leyland St Mary’s, West Lancashire
Longridge High School, Ribble Valley
Moor Park High School, Preston
Our Lady’s Catholic College, Lancaster
Rhyddings Business and Enterprise School, Hyndburn
Shuttleworth College, Burnley
Walton-le-Dale High School, South Ribble
West Craven High School, Pendle
St Augustine’s Roman Catholic High School, Ribble Valley

The Lancashire Book of the Year was the first regional book award for children when it began in 1987. It was won that year by Philip Pullman, who went on to great success with the His Dark Materials trilogy.

The pupils taking part are from school Year 9 (aged 13 and 14). 24 high schools from across the county have taken part, with each Lancashire district being represented.

The Lancashire Book of the Year Award is sponsored by UCLan for the 18th year.

For more information, go to www.lancashire.gov.uk/libraries or call 0300 123 6703.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here