web analytics

Rainford CE Primary School scoops award at the Educate Awards 2016


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Rainford CE Primary School wins the Outstanding Teaching of Life Skills Award thanks to its approach to mental wellbeing.
  • Runners up include Rainford High Technology College for Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Secondary School.

St Helens’ inspiring teachers, support stars and stand out schools have been awarded at the prestigious Educate Awards ceremony this evening (Friday 18 November).

Over 500 guests gathered for the Educate Awards ceremony held at the Liverpool Anglican Cathedral, hosted by actor and comedian Neil Fitzmaurice.

The awards, in partnership with Copyrite Systems and Ricoh, is now in its fifth year and is the biggest celebration of education in the North West.

On the night, 21 awards were handed out to schools in Lancashire, Merseyside and Cheshire. A great variety of projects and skills were represented, from entrepreneurial awareness, dazzling stage performances, creative literacy initiatives to inspiring community partnerships.

Rainford CE Primary School won the Outstanding Teaching of Life Skills Award for how it’s preparing pupils for the wider world, from money management to food skills. The judges loved the school’s approach to mental wellbeing, with a learning mentor on hand to support students and a ‘Worry Box’ available with follow up support meetings.

The runner up for the Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Secondary School Award was Rainford High Technology College. The school has great overseas links and a fantastic funding setup which helps children at grassroots level show some real talent.

Guests were treated to special performances by talented North West pupils, including BBC Young Musician finalist Andrew Woolcock, Formby High School’s Mundo Afrika Choir and Winstanley College’s three students, Jacob Maguire, Hannah Hill and Sarah Prescot.

Over 250 choristers and a 50 pupil orchestra from nine schools across Merseyside also brought their musical talents together to perform as the Educate Awards Super Choir on the night. Led by choirmaster Matthew O’Keeffe from The Belvedere Academy, performing schools included The Belvedere Academy, Bickerstaffe CE Primary School, Rainford CE Primary School, St Hilda’s CE High School, Liverpool College, Netherton Moss, Archbishop Blanch School, Whitefield Primary school and Academy of St Francis of Assisi.

Kim O’Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, says: “The number of entries we had received is testament to the excellence and hard work seen in our schools and colleges across the North West. We are proud to host this event which champions the creativity, diversity and dedication of schools in Merseyside, Cheshire and Lancashire.

“As one judge so eloquently put it – ‘It’s so reassuring to know the next generation of children are in such good hands.’ Congratulations to all of tonight’s winners, runners up and shortlisted schools.”

The winners were chosen by the esteemed judging panel which includes Henry Platten, founder of the multi award-winning eCadet Scheme; Michelle Dow, managing director of All About STEM; James Tartt, Merseyside track athlete and architect; Radio City breakfast host Leanne Campbell; Olympian and managing director of Raise The Bar, Steve Smith; Councillor Gary Millar, Assistant Mayor, Mayoral Lead for Business & International Trade; Chris Walker, regional managing editor of Trinity Mirror North West and North Wales; Lesley Martin-Wright, chief executive of Knowsley Chamber; Fiona Barnet, director of The Foundry Agency; Andrew Pimbley of Wirral’s Claremont Farm; and the education team at the respected Everyman and Playhouse Theatres.

Associate sponsors at the awards include Hays Education, All About STEM, The Foundry Agency, Greater Merseyside Learning Providers’ Federation (GMLPF), eCadets, The Bishop of Liverpool, LD Photography, Progress Schools, Kier Construction Northern, Merseyside Network for Collaborative Outreach (MNCO), The Student Support Centre, PCS Law, Capita Education, Wray Brothers, Educ8 Group, Liverpool School Sports Partnership (LSSP), School Improvement Liverpool Ltd, Liverpool John Moores University and the Witherslack Group Ltd.

Full list of award winners

Full list of award winners

The Communication Award

Winner: Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool

Runner up: Enterprise South Liverpool Academy, Liverpool

Eco Project of the Year

Winner: St Francis Xavier’s College, Liverpool

Runner up: Neston High School, Cheshire

Spirit of Enterprise Award

Winner: New Park Primary School, Liverpool

Runner up: Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool

SEND Provision Award

Winner: Springwood Heath Primary School, Liverpool

Runner up: The Observatory School, Wirral

Innovative and Creative Literacy Award

Winner: Evelyn Community Primary School, Knowsley

Runner up: Bishop David Sheppard CE Primary School, Sefton

STEM Project of the Year

Winner: Gateacre School, Liverpool

Runner up: Rudston Primary School, Liverpool

Outstanding Arts in a Primary School

Winner: Netherton Moss Primary School, Sefton

Runner up: Riverside Primary School, Wirral

Outstanding Arts in a Secondary School

Winner: Formby High School, Sefton

Runner up: Archbishop Blanch High School, Liverpool

Career Aspiration Award

Winner: Enterprise South Liverpool Academy, Liverpool

Runner up: Notre Dame Catholic College, Liverpool

Community Partnership Award

Winner: Springwood Heath Primary School and Kingsmoor Manor, Liverpool

Runner up: Bickerstaffe CE Primary School

Outstanding Teaching of Life Skills

Winner: Rainford CE Primary School, St Helens

Runner up: Lakeside School, Liverpool

Innovation in Education Award

Winner: Whitefield Primary School, Liverpool

Runner up: Gilmour Infant School, Liverpool

Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Primary School

Winner: Halewood CofE Primary School, Knowsley

Runner up:  Bidston Avenue Primary School, Wirral

Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Secondary School

Winner: Clare Mount Specialist Sports College, Wirral

Runner up: Rainford High Technology College, St Helens

Leadership Team of the Year

Winner: Eldon Primary School, Lancashire

Runner up: Archbishop Temple School, Lancashire

Teacher of the Year

Winner: Mr. Martyn Dutton, Barnton Community Primary School, Cheshire

Runner up: Miss Chris Eglin, Valewood Primary School, Sefton

Support Star of the Year

Winner: Lisa Mitchell, community coordinator, Gateacre School, Liverpool

Joint runner up: Tony Purcell, teaching assistant, Enterprise South Liverpool Academy, Liverpool and Diane Reeves, learning mentor, Holy Family Halewood Primary, Knowsley

Most Inspirational 16-18 Education Provider

Winner: Winstanley College, Lancashire

Runner up: St Margaret’s CE Academy, Liverpool

Most Inspirational Secondary School

Winner: St Damian’s RC Science College, Lancashire

Runner up: St Michael’s CE High School

Most Inspirational Primary School

Winner: Morecambe Bay Community Primary School, Lancashire

Runner up: Barnton Community Nursery and Primary, Cheshire

WOW Recognition Award

Winner: Alsop High School, Liverpool

Runner up: Calday Grange Grammar School, Wirral

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *