Home Local News Lancashire Book of the Year shortlist

Lancashire Book of the Year shortlist


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The shortlisted titles for the Lancashire Book of the Year awards have been announced at a special event held in Preston today (Tuesday 5 March).

Lancashire Book of the Year remains one of the few book awards where young people themselves are totally responsible for drawing up the shortlist and choosing the overall winner.

This special occasion was attended by representatives from 25 high schools from across the county.

The shortlisted authors and books are:

Holly Bourne – It Only Happens In The Movies
Katy Cannon – How To Write A Love Story
Sarah Crossan – Moonrise
Siobhan Curham – Don’t Stop Thinking About Tomorrow
Lauren James – The Loneliest Girl In The Universe
Penny Joelson – Girl In The Window
Taran Matharu – The Summoner:Outcast
Nathan Parker – The Disappearance Of Timothy Dawson
Paula Rawsthorne – Shell
Fiona Shaw – Outwalkers
S.M. Wilson – The Extinction Trials

The winning author of the Lancashire Book of the Year award will be decided on Tuesday 25 June and announced at a special celebration event, with sponsors UCLan, on Friday 5 July.

County Councillor Peter Buckley, Lancashire County Council’s cabinet member for community and cultural services, said: “Being introduced to books at a young age is important, as it can build up a love of reading that can stay with you for the rest of your life.

“It’s fantastic to see so many young people so actively involved in choosing the books to go forward, and clearly getting so much pleasure from books.

“I know that what makes this award extra special for the shortlisted authors is that it is the young readers themselves who choose the winner, the young people they are actually writing for, and this means so much to them.

“I really hope that they enjoy reading these shortlisted books to decide on their overall winner, and that their love of reading continues.”

There were 60 books nominated this year. The young judges have been reading them since September to decide which books to shortlist.

The schools that have taken part this year are:

Albany Academy, Chorley
Alder Grange School, Rawtenstall, Rossendale
Pendle Vale College, Nelson, Pendle
Ashton Community Science College, Ashton, Preston
Bishop Rawstorne Church of England Language College, Croston, Chorley
Carr Hill High School, Kirkham, Preston
Central Lancaster High School, Lancaster
Lancaster Girls’ Grammar School, Lancaster
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School, Clitheroe, Ribble Valley
Marsden Heights Community College, Nelson, Pendle
Fleetwood High School, Fleetwood, Wyre
Garstang Community Academy, Garstang, Wyre
Moor Park High School, Preston
SS John Fisher and Thomas More Roman Catholic High School, Colne, Pendle
Mount Carmel High School, Accrington, Hyndburn
Accrington Academy, Accrington, Hyndburn
Ormskirk High School, Ormskirk
Brownedge St. Mary’s Catholic High School, Bamber Bridge, South Ribble
Whitworth Community High School, Whitworth, Rossendale
Stonyhurst College, Clitheroe, Ribble Valley
Shuttleworth College, Burnley
Sir John Thursby Community College, Burnley
St Bede’s Catholic High School, Lytham St Annes, Fylde
Garstang Community Academy, Garstang, Wyre
St Bede’s Catholic High School, Lytham St Annes, Fylde
Wellfield High School, Leyland, South Ribble

The Lancashire Book of the Year was the first regional book award for children when it began in 1987. It was won that year by Philip Pullman, who went on to great success with the His Dark Materials trilogy.

The pupils taking part are from school Year 9 (aged 13 and 14). 25 high schools from across the county have taken part, with each Lancashire district being represented.

The Lancashire Book of the Year Award is sponsored by UCLan for the 17th year.

For more information, go to www.lancashire.gov.uk/libraries or call 0300 123 6703.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here